A Tangy Slice of Web 2.0

A Random Walk Through Web 2.0 and Online Marketing

  • Welcome to Tangyslice

  • View Frank Days's profile on LinkedIn
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Subscribe

  • 30 Days: Social Media Odyssey

    Posted by fmdays on June 23, 2008

    We’ve moved

    Find us at www.tangyslice.com

    There is a social media site for virtually anything you can imagine. After a recent conversation with limeduck about staking claim to your digital brand, I decided to test his premise Morgan Spurlock style. For the next 30 days, I will explore the impact of living the social media dream.

    Here are my rules of engagement:

    1. Sign up for as many social media sites as possible.

    2. Register for each as Tangyslice, a middle aged man desperately seeking social media coolness.

    3. Place a link or badge on my personal blog for each new site I join.

    4. Solicit site suggestions from friends and colleagues. I can be reached at tangy [at] tangyslice dot com (or @tangyslice if you prefer Twitter) if you have any suggestions.

    5. Blog frequently about the experience.

    To make this more than just another inane attempt at online greatness, I will be raising money for my kids’ elementary school through the Brackett School PTA in Arlington MA. I am personally pledging $1 for every registration and hope that others will support my cause on my online fundraising page. I am setting my goal for 100 sites.

    Wish me luck.

    One Response to “30 Days: Social Media Odyssey”

    1. Kim R. said

      Change has arrived in fundraising. I came across a website http://www.raisewhileyousave.com (RWYS) the other day when looking into Green fundraising oppurtunities, as I am fed up with my kids going door 2 door and selling cookie dough and magazines. I looked into this new fundraising program which is helping parents Save Money while raising money.they are also helping great causes which don’t have any budget to run a fundraiser, as they do all the work for you, by building you a webpage attached to thier website. Thier products are these really snazzy energy saving product kits, which can save parent $100’s of dollars on those bills we all hate to open. I thought I would share this information as we could all do with a little extra cash during this economy Im sure. My friend who is a PTA mom is always complaining about the difficulty of getting new ideas, and the lack of interest they have in the same old boring fundraising oppurtunities. I think this is very clever, as the schools and community fundraisers, don’t purchase anything, the kids don’t need to do anything, the kits save money and help raise money, and apparently they even send the kits out to the parents home, so PTA moms like my friend no longer need to chase moms around the playground to tell them thier products are in the sports hall for collection. we’ve all been there. :)

    Leave a Reply

         
